cookies link
maecenas music - wind bands and ensembles

Pavane pour une infante defunte(Pavane for a Dead Princess) for Woodwind and Saxophones

Maurice Ravel transcribed by Malcolm Binney

Ravel's Pavane pour une infante defunte began life as a piano piece written whilst Ravel was studying with Faure at the Paris Conservatoire. The orchestral version, also made by Ravel, was premiered to great acclaim in 1910 at a concert in Manchester, UK, by the conductor Henry J. Wood who is famous as the founder of the annual Henry Wood Promenade Concerts in London.

Sadly, in later life, Ravel became dissatisfied with the piece saying he "no longer saw its good points". However, audiences have resolutely ignored his protestations and the work has remained one of the most popular pieces of the early 20th century.

This transcription for woodwind and saxophones has been created from the version for orchestra completed by Ravel in 1909 and published by E. Demets in Paris in 1910.

Scoring: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, Bass Clarinet,
2 Bassoons, 2 Alto Saxophones, Tenor Saxophone and Baritone Saxophone. 

Duration C: 6 minutes


Set of parts and score

transparent gif


transparent gif



Pavane, Ravel (computer generated performance)

transparent gif