cookies link
maecenas music - wind bands and ensembles

Joyeuse Marchefor Woodwind and Saxophones

Chabrier, Emmanuel transcribed by Malcolm Binney


Chabrier considered his Joyeuse Marche 'idiotically comical'. Debussy described it as 'filled to overflowing with bold and colourful innovations' and a 'masterpiece of high fantasy'. It was dedicated to Vincent d'Indy who was one of Chabrier's many friends in the Parisian artistic avant-garde which included both Manet and Monet.

The transcription is based on both Chabrier's piano and orchestral versions of the work and endeavours to fulfill Debussy's description of the piece as 'full of audacious harmonies, quirky instrumentation, constant rhythmic invention and an almost grotesque consistency of sound!' The concept of an orchestral woodwind section combined with a quartet of saxophones has lent itself ideally to that description.

This transcription is scored for: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 3 Clarinets in Bb (Clarinet 3 doubling Bass Clarinet), 2 Bassoons, 2 Alto Saxophones, Tenor Saxophone and Baritone Saxophone.

Duration c: 4.00 minutes


Set and score

transparent gif


transparent gif



Joyeuse Marche

transparent gif